New Delhi: As the counting of votes has begun for Himachal Pradesh’s Bhoranj Bye-Election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Anil Dhiman took early lead whereas Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Promila Devi is lagging behind. As per the early trends, Dhiman is leading with 1364 votes.

Since 1990, the seat was formerly held by BJP stalwart Ishwar Dass Dhiman who had won six successive elections from the constituency.

There are five candidates in the fray but the main contest is said to be between Anil Dhiman of BJP and Promila Devi of Congress. Of the three Independents in the fray, Pawan Chandel and Romesh Dogra are rebels of BJP and Congress, respectively.

The election is considered important for both the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress as it is likely to set the trend for assembly elections in the state, due later this year.