Live Updates

  • 1:23 PM IST

    Thank you for being with us. Stay tuned to for all the latest updates.

  • 10:54 AM IST

    Bharatiya Janata Party’s Anil Dhiman wins from Bhoranj seat by 8290 votes

  • 10:51 AM IST

    Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Anil Dhiman takes massive
    lead with 24434 votes in round 13

  • 10:32 AM IST

    Stage set for high-stakes battle in Bhoranj. BJP’s Dr. Anil Dhiman takes lead, Congress’s Promila Devi trails.

  • 10:18 AM IST

    Bharatiya Janata Party candidaet Dr. Anil Dhiman is yet again leading with 3488 votes

  • 10:09 AM IST

    According to the early trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading on 5 out of 10 assembly constituencies in bye-elections in 8 states including Karnataka, Rajasthan, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh and Assam. Counting underway.

  • 9:42 AM IST

    Congress candidate Promila Devi is now leading with 1625 votes whereas BJP Candidate Anil Dhiman lags behind with 1574 votes.

  • 9:12 AM IST

    Early trends indicate Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Anil Dhiman is leading whereas Congress’s Promila Devi is lagging behind.

  • 8:57 AM IST

    Since 1990, the seat was formerly held by BJP stalwart Ishwar Dass Dhiman who had won six successive elections from the constituency and now as per the early trends, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Anil Dhiman is leading.

  • 8:41 AM IST

    Bharatiya Janata Party congress Dr. Anil Dhiman is leading with 1364 votes whereas Indian National Congress’ Promila Devi is trailing, indicates early trends.

New Delhi: Results of Himachal Pradesh’s Bhoranj bye-election will be declared today as the counting of votes expected to begin at 8 AM. The seat was formerly held by BJP stalwart Ishwar Dass Dhiman who had won six successive elections from the constituency since 1990. The bye-election was necessitated following Dhiman’s demise in November last year.

There are five candidates in the fray but the main contest is said to be between Anil Dhiman of BJP and Promila Devi of Congress. Of the three Independents in the fray, Pawan Chandel and Romesh Dogra are rebels of BJP and Congress, respectively. The election is considered important for both the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress as it is likely to set the trend for assembly elections in the state, due later this year.

Over 63 per cent voting was registered in the bye-election, which took place on April 09. During the polling, some technical snag in EVMs were reported following which the voting was delayed by an hour, however, the polling process remained peaceful and no untoward incident was reported from any part of the constituency.

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, who cast his vote at Smirpur polling station, was confident of a thumping victory for BJP candidate Dr Anil Dhiman. While addressing a rally ahead of bye-election,  Dhumal had said that he want to celebrate two festivals. “On April 9, the day Bhoranj assembly constituency votes, I want to celebrate Navratras while on April 13, the day of counting  I will celebrate Baisakhi at the booth or sector that polls the highest number of votes for the BJP.”

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh had also claimed that the Congress would wrest the Bhoranj seat, a party bastion.