New Delhi, May 22: The Hindu Mahasabha has filed a petition before the Supreme Court and challenged the appointment of Congress-JD(S) alliance candidate HD Kumarswamy as the Karnataka Chief Minister saying it is unconstitutional. In its bid to stop Kumaraswamy from taking oath as the Karnataka CM, the Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha (ABHM) moved to the apex court to oppose Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala’s decision of calling Kumaraswamy to form government in the state.Also Read - Rajasthan Revises Order; Allows Sale, Bursting Of Green Crackers With Restricted Timings

Also Read - UPSC NDA Recruitment 2021: Female Fitness Standards, Other Eligibility Criteria To be Announced Soon

The Hindu Mahasabha went to the Supreme Court last evening and sought the SC’s help in stalling the oath to be taken by HD Kumaraswamy tomorrow, May 23 as the Karnataka Chief Minister. From stating the Congress-JD(S) alliance as unconstitutional to various other reasons, the Hindu Mahasabha came up with several rationales in order to stop the formation of the new government in the state, in its plea which it had filed through lawyer Barun Kumar Sinha. Also Read - Lakhimpur Violence: 'Is this The Way You Treat Other Murder Accused?', Supreme Court Pulls up UP Govt For Inaction

This incident comes to light after the crucial floor test on May 19, in which BJP had to prove its majority in the state. The Supreme Court had ordered a live telecast of the floor test in the Karnataka Assembly after there was much hullabaloo over the result of the Karnataka election. Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa resigned prior to facing the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly.

The Karnataka Elections were held on May 12 and the results were out on May 15  for the 222 constituencies out of the state’s 224 seats. BJP got the majority of seats, that is, 104 seats, while the Congress won 78 seats and announced an alliance with JD(S) which got 37 seats.

The Congress-JD(S) alliance resulted in claiming the majority thereafter and sought to form a government in the southern state.