New Delhi: The Centre has effected a major reshuffle in the top Indian Air Force (IAF) positions, said reports on Wednesday. Air Marshal VR Chaudhari is now taking over as the Deputy Chief of the Air Staff and Air Marshal Raghunath Nambiar taking over as Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief (AOC-in-C), Eastern Air Command. Air Marshal Amit Dev has been appointed as the Director General Air (Operations), Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora has been named the new South Western AOC-in-C.

These new appointments were announced by the IAF on its official Facebook page.

Chaudhari was commissioned into the fighter stream of the IAF in December 1982. An alumnus of the NDA, he has flown various aircraft and has a flying experience of 3,800 hours, said the post.

Air Marshal Raghunath Nambiar, who took over as the Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Eastern Air Command, is an alumnus of the NDA and was commissioned in the IAF as a Fighter Pilot in June 1981. He is an Experimental Test Pilot and has flown 42 types of aircraft as Pilot in Command. He has had the highest number of flying hours on the Mirage-2000 in the IAF, with over 2,300 flying hours on the aircraft to his credit, and a total of 5,100 hrs of flying experience. He is a member of the Society of Experimental Test Pilots and was the Project Test Pilot for the Light Combat Aircraft “Tejas”.