New Delhi: A potentially embarrassing verbal spat has broken out between the BJP and the RJD, over one of the former’s leaders tweeting that Congress president Rahul Gandhi is an ‘impotent coward’.Also Read - Punjab Cabinet Reshuffle: Who is In, Who is Out | Full List of Probable Ministers Likely to Take Oath Tomorrow

Bhartiya Janata Party leader Srikant Sharma in a recent tweet against the Congress, hit a new low when he tweeted, “Coward, impotent Congress president’s comments on recent developments are shameful. The whole world stands with India in its fight against terrorism and it is only the Congress party who is criticising and weakening the morale of the Indians.” Also Read - West Bengal BJP Unit Likely to Witness Major Reshuffle Post Durga Puja

Also Read - Charanjit Channi Takes Oath as First Dalit CM of Punjab Amid Fresh Infighting, Gets 2 Deputies

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) which is in an alliance with the Congress party in Bihar responded to Sharma’s tweet and asked, “Rahul Gandhi is impotent… how does Srikant Sharma know this? When their (BJP) spokesperson’s language is so questionable, and the party’s track record ridden with blood, one can’t expect decency from them.

The RJD will contest on 20 out of 40 seats in Bihar, as per its seat-sharing poll pact in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections with the Congress.

The BJP and the Congress have long been sparring over the Indian Air Force’ pre-emptive air strikes in Balakot in Pakistan after the Pulwama terror attack. The BJP-led government claimed to have attacked the camps of terror organisation Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) and avenged the martyrdom of 40 CRPF personnel who were killed in the dastardly February 14 strike.

The Congress among other Opposition parties though hailed the air strike, but soon after demanded proof of damage and the casualty in view of some foreign media outlets releasing photos that debunked the IAF’s claims of ‘inflicting massive damage’.

Srikant Sharma is a Member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly from the Mathura Constituency.