New Delhi: Winning 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly, India was on Wednesday elected as non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council for a two-year term. Further, other countries such as Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the Security Council elections held Wednesday. Also Read - 'Deeply Grateful': PM Modi on India's Election as Non-permanent Member of UN Security Council

India was a candidate for a non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term. Its victory was a given since it was the sole candidate vying for the lone seat from the grouping. Also Read - 'Covid-19 Pandemic Could Lead to Increase in Social Unrest & Violence', Warns UN Secretary General

New Delhi’s candidature was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member Asia-Pacific grouping, including China and Pakistan, in June last year. Also Read - Pak Again Fails to Raise Kashmir Issue at UNSC; Members Say Bilateral Matter

Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.

The UN General Assembly on Wednesday conducted elections for President of the 75th session of the Assembly, five non-permanent members of the Security Council and members of the Economic and Social Council under special voting arrangements put in place here due to COVID-19 related restrictions.

(With agency inputs)