New Delhi: Ram Vishun Singh of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has won the Jagdishpur constituency. Also Read - Rajya Sabha Seat Left Vacant After Ram Vilas Paswan's Death May Not go to LJP Again - This is Why

The counting of votes for Jagdishpur constituency in Bihar’s Bhojpur district that went to polls on October 28 began at 8 AM in the morning, Also Read - 13 Out of 15 Bihar Ministers Are Crorepatis, Highest From BJP: Report

The Jagdishpur seat witnessed a tough fight between RJD nominee Ram Vishun Singh and JD(U)’s Shushumlata. Also Read - Poor Show in Bihar Polls: Khurshid Slams Sibal, Sonia Calls Panel Meet For 'Introspection'

In Bihar Assembly Election 2015, RJD candidate Ram Vishun Singh had registered victory from Jagdishpur constituency seat. He had defeated RLSP candidate Rakesh Raushan.

Bihar voted for the 243-member Assembly in three phases — October 28, November 3 and November 7.

The RJD had won 80 seats in the 2015 Assembly polls, while the JD(U) won 71 seats. The BJP had won 53 seats and the LJP managed two seats.

The Bihar election is being seen as a referendum on Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, whose JD(U) is in alliance with the BJP-led NDA. Nitish Kumar has governed Bihar three times in a row since 2005.