Srinagar: Two Jaish terrorists were gunned down in an encounter with the security forces that started in Warpora area of Sopore in Baramulla district, earlier on Friday. Upon receiving a tip-off about the militants, the security forces started a search operation in Warpora village. Also Read - Farooq Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti Invited to Meet PM Modi to Discuss Future Course of Action For J&K

Arms and ammunition were recovered from the terrorists’ custody. However, the identities and affiliations of the militants were not immediately ascertained. Also Read - Political Stagnation to End in J&K? Centre Calls All-Party Meeting With Mainstream Leaders on June 24, Say Reports

“Two top terrorists of Jaish-e-Mohammed were eliminated. There was no collateral damage & no injuries to security personnel. Identities yet to be ascertained. The public is requested not to venture into the operational area until it is sanitised, “DIG South Kashmir Atul Kumar Goel said. Also Read - Unlock 2021: Jammu And Kashmir Eases Covid Curbs in THESE 8 Districts. Full List of Relaxations Here

Two more terrorists belonging to terror outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) are believed to be trapped. Meanwhile, section 144 has been imposed and internet services has also been suspended in the area as a precautionary measure. Restrictions have been imposed in the town to maintain law and order.

This comes a week after  the security forces gunned down two terrorists, including Abdul Rasheed Ghazi alias Kamran – the Jaish-e-Mohammed commander who had masterminded the February 14 attack in Pulwama which left 40 CRPF jawans dead.

In the 18-hour-long gunfight, four Army personnel, including a Major, were also martyred. A civilian was also killed in the exchange of fire that took place in Pinglan area.

Intelligence sources had revealed that nearly 15 Jaish militants had infiltrated into India via Poonch last month. Among them was Ghazi, who had arrived with equipment and other explosives and was directed to train a local Kashmiri youth to carry out an attack on security forces.

The martyred security personnel belonged to the 55 Rashtriya Rifles. They have been identified as Major VS Dhoundiyal, Havaldar Sheo Ram, Sepoy Ajay Kumar and Sepoy Hari Singh.