Srinagar: The Jammu And Kashmir government on Friday approved the creation of a separate administrative and revenue division for Ladakh. This division will comprise Leh and Kargil districts with its headquarters at Leh. A Divisional Commissioner and Inspector General of Police for Ladakh Division will be appointed soon.

With the latest announcement by the J-K government, Ladakh will become the third administrative division of the state. Presently, the region is part of the Kashmir division and is administratively managed through the Leh and Kargil Autonomous Hill Councils.

Governor Satya Pal Malik’s administration issued an order which said, “The government has approved the creation of a separate administrative/revenue division for Ladakh. The division will comprise Leh and Kargil districts. Leh will be the division’s headquarters.”

It also approved the setting up of a committee under the chairmanship of Principal Secretary to government, planning, development and monitoring department to identify the posts of divisional level heads of various departments that may be required for the new division; particularly their staffing pattern, roles and responsibilities and proposed location of these offices.

“Consequently, the region is riddled with insurmountable problems with respect to delivery of developmental schemes, redressal of public grievances, the conduct of administrative affairs and governance as such,” the order read.

Ladakh region is geographically isolated with sporadic population and remote terrain which remains landlocked for nearly six months in a year.

“This decision of the Government goes a long way in fulfilling the governance and development aspirations of the people of Ladakh region. The issue has been discussed at various fora and there has been a persistent demand for the creation of Division for Ladakh from many organizations including the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Councils (LAHDC) Leh and Kargil.”