New Delhi, June 8: Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar on Friday labelled the political situation in Karnataka as “ludicrous” and said that the new government in the state is “temporary”. Referring to the Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy appointing 25 ministers without any portfolios, the union minister said that the state government is “directionless”.

“Even though the people had given the highest number of seats to the BJP in the assembly elections, JD(S) and Congress made a backdoor entry to power. The government is only temporary,” he said. Referring to the dissatisfaction among the Congress leaders over non-inclusion if their names in the cabinet, Kumar said that the JD(S) and Congress coalition will be “short-lived”.

“The workers are not happy with the coalition of the two parties, which were at loggerheads before the elections. Therefore the coalition will be a short-lived one,” he said. Ananth Kumar’s remarks have come amidst the ongoing protests by the party members who have accused AICC general secretary KC Venugopal and KPCC chief G Parameshwara of failing to make the right choices.

Earlier in the day, Congress leader DK Shivakumar said on Friday that the vacancies in the Cabinet would be filled soon. “It is obvious that the senior leaders were hurt. Congress party has kept all options open to fill the vacancies and it will be done soon. I have belief in party high command. We have to build confidence among party workers,” he said.

There are reports that Congress has devised a ‘rotation plan’ to keep its ministers in the HD Kumaraswamy Cabinet in Karnataka on toes. The rotation plan, as per the reports, the grand old party will be replacing its ministers with new faces after two years. The reports also have t that the non-performers will be dropped from the cabinet. The performances of the ministers will be accessed after six months.

Soon after the June 6 Karnataka cabinet expansion, a few Congress MLAs held a meeting in Bengaluru reportedly over not securing berths in the cabinet. Expressing disappointment, former minister HK Patil said that he poured his sweat and blood for the Congress party and worked with Rajiv Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi but still wasn’t offered any ministerial berth in the Karnataka cabinet.

Not just Patil, several other senior members of the Congress party including MB Patil, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Ramalinga Reddy, R Roshan Baig, H K Patil, Shyamnur Shivashankarappa, Tanvir Sait and Satish Jarkhiholi, were dropped. The announcement of the list was soon followed by supporters of many Congress ministers holding protests and demonstrations against their exclusion.