Patna, Nov 8: Two hours following the Election Commission began the count of votes, the battle in Bihar is getting close and tough. A neck-to-neck contest is expected between Mahagathbandhan and the Bharatiya Janata Party led National Democratic Alliance. According to figures carried by leading news channels, both the coalitions are leading at around 100 seats, whereas the non-aligned political forces also seems to have made an impact. (ALSO READ: Bihar Election Results 2015 Live Updates)

According to numbers carried by NDTV, Janata Dal United is currently leading on 114 seats whereas, the Bharatiya Janata Party is ahead on 105. ‘Others’ are leading on 11 assembly segments. Among the others, All India Majlees-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) candidate Ghulam Sarvar is leading from Baisi constituency in Seemanchal region. NCP under the leadership of regional leader Tariq Anwar is ahead on 2 seats.

To form majority, the coalition needs to win on 122 seats of the 243 contested. According to current situation, the non-aligned political forces could make a major impact and could play the kingmaker role.(ALSO READ: Bihar Assembly Election Results 2015 Live Streaming- Watch Live telecast)

According to JD(U) president Sharad Yadav, the Mahagathbandhan will win 150 seats. However, senior BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain has expressed confidence in the performance reflected by his party according to early trends.

Chief Election Commissioner R Lakshamanan announced that the Election Commission will release the first list of official results on 11 AM.