New Delhi: The Congress on Thursday has released the list of its 40 star campaigners for the first phase of the upcoming Assembly elections. Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh, Rahul Gandhi, Adhir Ranjan Choudhary. Ghulam Nabi Azad, Rameshwar Oraon, Alamgir Alam, Bhupesh Baghel, Ashok Gehlot, Tariq Anwar, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Randeep Singh Surjewala are some of them.


The five-phase polls will be held from November 30 to December 20. The counting will take place on December 23.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal have already announced a pre-poll alliance. Former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren will be CM face of the alliance.

In 2014, the Congress had contested on all seats and had won only six. The JMM had emerged winner on 19 seats, while Babulal Marandi’s JVM (P) had won 8 seats. The BJP, led by Raghubar Das, had stormed to power with a clear majority on 43 seats.

During the pre-poll alliance talks, the Congress was ready to settle for 25-30 seats. RJD, on the other hand, asked for 14-15 seats but were given only 7.