New Delhi: The fifth and final phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections for all the 16 assembly consituencies of the state concluded peacefully at 5 PM on Friday with an estimated voter turnout of 70.83 per cent. The voting for Borio, Barhet, Littipada, Mahespur and Shikaripada seats of Jharkhand concluded earlier at 3 PM on Friday, a report quoted an official as saying.Also Read - Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019: Watch Exit Poll Results Live Streaming on Zee News TV

It must be noted that the polling for the 16 assembly constituencies of Jharkhand commenced at 7 AM in Santhal Pargana region of the state. The voter turnout in the state assembly elections crossed 60 per cent until 3 PM on December 20. Also Read - Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019: Priyanka Gandhi Accuses BJP of Doing Nothing For Tribals, Farmers

Voting in the remaining 11 seats concluded at 5 PM. A total of 40,05,287 voters will decide the fate of 237 candidates, including 29 women aspirants, in this assembly elections. Notably, over 35,000 security forces were deployed to ensure peaceful polling. Owing to technical issues in Electronic Voting Machines, the polling was delayed at two voting booths on Friday. Also Read - Declare Citizenship For Every Pakistani if You Have Guts: PM Modi Lashes Out at Congress in Jharkhand

The seven seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes were Borio, Barhet, Littipada, Mahespur, Shikaripada, Dumka and Jama. The rest of the seats namely Rajmahal, Pakur, Nala, Jamtara, Jarmundi, Mahgama, Poriyahaat, Sarath and Godda were reserved for the general category. A maximum of 26 candidates contested for the Jarmundi seat while only seven candidates were in fray for the Poriyahaat seat.

The 16 seats are spread across Sahebganj, Pakur, Dumka, Jamtara, Deoghar and Godda districts of Jharkhand. Some of the key candidates include state ministers Raj Paliwar, Louis Marandi and Randhir Singh. Hemant Soren, the chief ministerial candidate of Congress-Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-Rashtriya Janata Dal alliance,  contested from both Dumka and Barhet constituencies. He contested against  Louis Marandi in Dumka assembly seat who had defeated the then chief minister Soren in the 2014 assembly polls. On 13 seats, there was a direct fight between BJP and the JMM, Congress and RJD alliance and on the rest of the seats the contest was triangular.

(With agency inputs)