Jharkhand Election 2019 Results: The Chief Minister’s crown seems to be going to JMM chief Hemant Soren as he won from Barhait assembly constituency by a margin of 11668 votes and from Dumka seat by 2750 votes. BJP’s Raghubar Das conceded defeat as per the trends indicated by the Election Commission. With the victory, Soren will be the chief minister of the state for the second time.Also Read - How to get Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

The counting of votes for 81 Assembly or Vidhan Sabha seats in Jharkhand began at 8 AM and early trends indicated a neck and neck battle between ruling BJP and JMM+Congress-NRC. Also Read - Jharkhand Assembly Election Result 2019 LIVE Streaming: When And Where to Watch

Notably, Jharkhand is the third BJP ruled state after Maharashtra and Haryana that went to polls this year.  Elections in the state were conducted in five phases from November 30 to December 20 amid tight security. The polls are said to be crucial for the ruling BJP as it failed to perform its best in Maharashtra and Haryana. Also Read - Jharkhand Election 2019 Exit Polls: Congress-JMM Alliance Expected to Form Govt With 38-50 Seats

(For overall coverage on Jharkhand elections – click here)

In 2014 Assembly elections, the BJP had won 37, All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) 5, JMM 19 and Congress 6. The JVM (P) won 8 seats and Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal could not win even a single seat. It would be interesting to see if the ruling BJP will be able to repeat its 2014 performance or the exit polls, which had predicted a majority for Congress-JMM-RJD alliance will come true.

(Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019 : Live TV)

However, the ABP-C-voter exit poll had pointed towards a hung Assembly with Congress-JMM and RJD bagging 35 seats. The same exit poll had indicated that the BJP may win between 28 and 36 seats which is less than its 2014 tally of 37 seats. India Today-My Axis meanwhile predicted 22-32 seats for BJP.

The poll of exit polls, on the other hand, had predicted a massive victory for the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance, with two of them even claiming that it will cross the majority mark of 41 on its own.

The tenure of the current Assembly ends on January 5, 2020. This is the fourth election in the state, since it was carved out of Bihar in 2000.

Live Updates