Ranchi, Apr 20: The results of Jharkhand Municipal Elections 2018 (Jharkhand Nagar Nikay Chunav 2018) will be declared on Friday. The counting of votes for 34 local bodies in Jharkhand will begin at 8 am on April 20 and the results are set to be out by afternoon. Voting was held for five Municipal Corporations (Nagar Nigam), 16 Municipal Councils (Nagar Parishad) and 13 Nagar Panchayats on Monday, April 16. Both the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are upbeat and are confident ahead of the counting day. Catch LIVE updates on Jharkhand local body elections 2018 results here.

According to reports, while the BJP is already making preparations for a victory, the Congress is confident of getting more seats. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha is also eyeing several seats. Many are seeing this as a curtain raiser for the Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019 and say that the results will have an impact on them. The contest has become even more interesting with candidates for the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor fighting on the party symbol.

A voter turnout of 65 per cent was recorded in the Jharkhand Civic Polls overall, Ranchi Municipal Corporation, which is the state’s largest urban local body, recorded the lowest turnout of 49.3 per cent. RMC election candidates had said that they will approach the State Election Commission with complaints of errors and names missing from voter lists on polling day.

The Nagar Nigams that went to polls were:

  • Modinagar Nagar Nigam
  • Hazaribagh Nagar Nigam
  • Giridih Nagar Nigam
  • Ranchi Nagar Nigam
  • Adityapur Nagar Nigam

Over 22 lakh voters were eligible to cast their votes for 34 urban local bodies in Jharkhand. Meanwhile, bypolls were also held at four local bodies – Jhumri Tilayya, Deoghar, Dhanbad and Bishrampur. According to Jharkhand State Election Commission, 278 candidates were in the fray for 34 Mayor and chairman seats,  320 for Deputy Mayor and Vice chairman, 122 for Mayoral and Presidential posts and 23 candidates for Deputy Mayor and Vice President posts.