Live Updates

  • 6:59 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling: The final voter turnout at the end of the polling session on Saturday was recorded at 62% across all 20 constituencies of Jharkhand assembly.

  • 4:14 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: Polling has concluded in 18 of the 20 Assembly seats amid a few incidents of violence in the second phase of Jharkhand assembly election. The final voter turnout percentage will come after polling concludes in two more Assembly seats at 5 p.m.

  • 4:03 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: Voter turnout recorded at 59.27% till 3 PM in the second phase of Jharkhand Assembly Polls.

  • 3:16 PM IST

  • 2:24 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: Voting recorded at 39.83% till 1 PM. Sporadic events of violence have been reported and polling in Gumla was cancelled after a firing killed 1 person.

  • 1:27 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: Meanwhile, in another poll-related violence, Naxalites torch an empty bus near Jojo Hatu village in Chaibasa constituency, West Singhbhum district of Jharkhand, the police said.

  • 1:25 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: Chief Minister Raghubar Das cast his vote in the second phase of Jharkhand polls.

  • 1:19 PM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: After a violent clash at poll booth 36 in Sisai block that resulted in shots being fired, two persons were injured while one was killed. Voting was suspended. Police are taking steps to maintain peace in the area.

  • 11:40 AM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: At 11 AM, the average voter turnout recorded across the 20 constituencies was 28.5%.

  • 11:07 AM IST

    Jharkhand Second Phase Polling LIVE: One person has been injured after security personnel opened fire on a group of men in an attempt to snatch their weapons outside the poll booth in Gumla’s Sisai constituency.

New Delhi: PAs Jharkhand early Saturday went for the second phase of polling on Saturday. The polls concluded with a voter turnout of 62 per cent. Chief Minister Raghubar Das, who seeks re-election, was one of the key candidates contesting against Saryu Roy in Jamshedpur (East). Saryu Roy is an independent candidate. Speaker Dinesh Oraon, ministers Neelkanth Singh Munda are also in the fray.

While the polling was conducted in a peaceful manner in most constituencies, 1 person died and two others were injured as a clash between rival parties resulted in shots fired in Sisai block of Gumla district. The polling station at Sisai was closed and voting was cancelled following the incident.

The polling began at 7 AM and ended around 5 PM in Jamshedpur (East) and Jamshedpur (West) constituencies, and between 7 AM and 3 PM on December 7 in the rest of the 18 constituencies.

About 260 candidates are in the contest in the second phase a nearly 47,24,968 voters, including women and third gender voters, will cast their votes.

Following is a list of assembly seats that will be going to the second phase of Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019:

1. Baharagora
2. Ghatsila(ST)
3. Potka(ST)
4. Jugsalai(SC)
5. Jamshedpur(East)
6. Jamshedpur(West)
7. Seraikela(ST)
8. Chaibasa(ST)
9. Majhgaon(ST)
10. Jaganathpur(ST)
11. Manoharpur(ST)
12. Chakradharpur(ST)
13. Kharsawan (ST)
14. Tamar(ST)
15. Torpa(ST)
16. Khunti(ST)
17. Mandar(ST)
18. Sisai(ST)
19. Simdega(ST)
20. Kolebira (ST)

Over 42,000 security personnel had been deployed well in advance by the Election Commission to ensure smooth and peaceful conduct of the polling, stated the police. While 16 of the total 20 constituencies are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled tribe category, one other constituency is reserved for the scheduled caste candidate, stated the EC release.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) is contesting in all the 20 constituencies in the second phase, the opposition alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Bahujan Samaj Party, Congress, Left party CPI, CPI-M, NCP are contesting in 14, 14, six, two, one, two seats respectively. Notably, the RJD is not fielding any of its candidate for the second phase of polling. However, in a first, NDA ally AJSU Party is contesting in 12 constituencies this time. Besides, the All India Trinamool Congress is fielding six candidates for the second phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections.