Also Read - Former Union Minister Jaswant Singh Passes Away; PM Modi, Rajnath Express Grief

Ranchi, Dec 23:  The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) appeared set for victory in Jharkhand on Tuesday as counting of votes polled in assembly polls put its candidates ahead in a whopping 53 of the 81 seats. Election Commission sources indicated a BJP sweep, with the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leading only in 11 constituencies, the Congress in four and two other parties in six places. Also Read - Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: NDA is One, Will Contest Polls Together, Says Ravi Shankar Prasad

Almost all the exit polls after the five-phase election had predicted a BJP win in Jharkhand. Chief Minister Hemant Soren was leading from both the seats he contested. Former chief minister Madhu Koda, accused of corruption, was trailing, officials said. Another former chief Minister, Babulal Marandi, was leading in Dhanwar but trailing in Giridih. A total of 1,136 candidates fought the election. Also Read - 'Nothing More Than Desperate Case of Political Compulsion For Badals', Punjab CM on SAD Snapping Ties With BJP

Bharatiya Janata Party seems confident enough of forming government in Jharkhand as per the Jharkhand State Assemble Elections Results 2014. The Bharatiya Janata Party has been widely tipped to emerge the winner in Jharkhand. The party position at 10 am indicated  Bharatiya Janata Party ahead with 34 seats, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) with 18 seats, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) with 7 seats, Congress with 10 seats.Read: Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand State Assembly Election Results 2014 Live News Update: BJP ahead in Jharkhand, in close contest with PDP in J & K