Jind (Haryana): Bharatiya Janata Party’s Krishan Lal Middha on Thursday won Jind by-polls with a margin of 12935 votes, garnering a total of 50566 votes. Jannayak Janta Party (JJP’s) Digvijay Singh Chautala got 37631 votes while Congress’ RS Surjwala collected 22740 votes.Also Read - Chhattisgarh Local Congress Leaders and Workers Enter Into Ugly Brawl, Ex-Dist President Pushed | Watch

The counting of votes of the by-election to the Jind assembly constituency in Haryana, held on January 28, took place today amid heightened security. Also Read - Petrol, Diesel Prices Surge to Record-High Levels, Costs 33% More Than Aviation Fuel | Check City-Wise Rates

According to Returning Officer Sub Divisional Magistrate Virender Sehrawat, 14 tables are being set up and counting on each table would be carried out by a supervisor and a counting assistant. Also Read - No Alcohol And Drugs, No Public Criticism of Party: Congress' Requisites For New Members | Details Here

He said that the work of counting will be completed in 13 rounds and after the counting of votes, adequate staff duty is being deputed to seal EVM machines and deposit them in the locked room.

The Jind by-poll has been dubbed as a prestige battle for all four major contenders – the ruling BJP, the Congress, the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) – ahead of parliamentary and assembly polls.

Click Here For Live Updates on Ramgarh Assembly Poll Result

Over 75.77 per cent voting was recorded in Jind by-poll, where the key contenders were Digvijay Singh Chautala of Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), Randeep Singh Surjewala of Congress, also a sitting MLA from Kaithal, BJP’s Krishan Midha, and INLD’s Umed Singh Redhu. The by-poll was necessitated following the death of INLD MLA Hari Chan Midha, father of Krishna Midha.

Arch rivals BJP, Congress, INLD and JJP are eyeing the results as a self-assessment exercise ahead of Lok Sabha polls this year.

The high-stake election is considered a referendum on the Manohar Lal Khattar government and also a semi-final ahead of Lok Sabha elections.

Live Updates

  • 3:47 PM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: “I would like to thank everyone who supported the party&me. It’s their victory. There were big leaders in the contest as well, but we have defeated them too. We will follow the schemes launched by PM and take them forward,” BJP’s KL Middha said.

  • 3:19 PM IST

  • 3:09 PM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: I hope Manohar Lal Khattar and Krishna Middha ji will fulfil the dreams of the people of Jind. I was given a responsibility by the party which I fulfilled to the best of my abilities, I congratulate Krishna Middha ji, said Randeep Surjewala.

  • 2:28 PM IST
    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: BJP leading with 46916 votes, Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) 30956 votes, Congress 19611 votes at the end of 11th round of counting.
  • 1:40 PM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: BJP leading with a margin of 9408 votes at the end of 7th round of counting. Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) 19403 votes, Congress 11647 votes

  • 1:04 PM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: After the sixth round of counting, BJP candidate Krishan Middha was leading over his nearest rival from the Jannayak Janata Party by a margin of over 10,000 votes

  • 12:51 PM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: Opposition party candidates from Congress, INLD and JJP have alleged EVM tampering. According to reports, counting of votes has been stalled.

  • 11:41 AM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: After the fifth round of counting in Jind, the BJP is leading with 21,052 votes, while the JJP is second with 15,315 votes. The Congress is third with 8,805 votes.

  • 11:06 AM IST
    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: After the fourth round of counting in Jind, the BJP has taken the lead with 15,481 votes. The JJP has now become second with 13,443 votes, while the Congress is maintaining the third position with 7,614 votes.
  • 10:47 AM IST

    Jind Bypoll Result Live Updates: Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) leading with 11226 votes at the end of third round of counting. BJP 9350 votes, Congress 5813 votes, Loktantra Suraksha Party (LSP) 2649 votes and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) 1760 votes.