Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir government has withdrawn the security cover of 919 undeserving persons, including 22 separatist leaders, since Governor’s Rule came into force on June 20, 2018 in the state. The move has freed 2,768 police personnel and 389 vehicles.Also Read - Yoga Day 2022: Army Dogs Performing Cute Yoga Routine Is Winning Hearts On Internet. See Pics

The Ministry of Home Affairs said, “The move follows strict stance by Home Ministry on inappropriate usage of scarce police resources in the State. It was observed by Centre that many undeserving persons managed to get security cover resulting in lack of State police resources for public at large. Accordingly, Union Home Ministry directed the State Govt. that a case by case in-depth review may be taken on merits.” Also Read - 7 Terrorists Killed in Three Separate Encounters in Kashmir

Further, the ministry added, “List of persons whose security cover has been withdrawn by state government includes 22 separatist leaders giving a clear message to those who are involved in anti-national activities. It has resulted in availability of 2,768 police personnel and 389 vehicles.” Also Read - Jammu And Kashmir: Bullet Riddled Body of Police Official Found in Pampore

In February this year, the Jammu and Kashmir administration had withdrawn security of 18 separatists and 155 political persons, including PDP leader Wahid Parra and IAS officer Shah Faesal.

Among the leaders whose security has been downgraded and withdrawn are SAS Geelani, Aga Syed Mosvi, Maulvi Abbas Ansari, Yaseen Malik, Saleem Geelani, Shahid ul Islam, Zaffar Akbar Bhat, Nayeem Ahmed Khan, Mukhtar Ahmad Waza, Farooq Ahmed Kichloo, Masroor Abbas Ansari, Aga Syed Abul Hussain, Abdul Gani Shah and Mohd Musadiq Bhat. This is in addition to the four separatists whose security was withdrawn.

The security of 155 political persons and activists, who did not require the security provided to them based on their threat assessment and their activities, was also withdrawn. This includes Shah Faesal, the 2010 IAS topper from Jammu and Kashmir who recently resigned from bureaucracy, and PDP leader Wahid Parra.