New Delhi: The counting for the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU) polls finally came to an end with the United Left sweeping the elections by winning all the four central posts- President, Vice-President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary.

Presidential candidate of the Left, N Sai Balaji bagged 2,161 votes and has been elected as the President while Sarika Chaudhury has been elected as the Vice President after bagging 2,692 votes. Aejaz Ahmed Rather who has been elected as the General Secretary bagged 2,423 votes and Amutha Jayadeep has become the Joint Secretary after bagging 2,047 votes.

Besides the Left bloc, there were candidates of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), which is the student wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), the Congress-affiliated NSUI (National Students’ Union of India) and BAPSA (Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association).

The United Left was ahead of its rivals in the other central panel posts of vice-president, general secretary and joint secretary. High-voltage drama ensued on September 15, Saturday as counting was suspended for nearly 14 hours after members of the ABVP staged protests alleging that they weren’t informed of the counting process.

The counting on Saturday was suspended at 4 am, resumed at 6.30 pm after two teachers from the Grievance Redressal Cell were appointed as observers for the exercise. More than 5,000 students cast their votes in the highly dramatised JNU student elections. The voter turnout percentage in the elections this year is 67.8 per cent, which is believed to be the highest in the last six years.

For the unversed, the United-Left alliance comprises of left-backed All India Students’ Association (AISA), Students’ Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF) and All India Students’ Federation (AISF).