Jokihat Election Result 2018: After witnessing a shaky ground in the early trends and trailing behind Janata Dal (United) JD(U) for a while, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) surged ahead in votes and went on to win the Jokihat Assembly seat from Bihar. RJD’s Shahnawaz Alam defeated JD(U)s Murshid Alam to win the Bihar bypolls. The counting of votes in Bihar’s Jokihat which was held today, May 31 saw both JD(U) and RJD locking horns. It must be noted that while JD(U) was backed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), RJD was backed by Congress. Also Read - Going by Centre’s Guidelines, Bihar Extends Coronavirus Lockdown Till June 30

The loss in Jokihat is also a big blow to the Nitish Kumar government. With RJD emerging victorious, its leader Tejaswi Pratap Yadav has too established himself. The Jokihat bypolls which was a face-off between Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejaswi Pratap Yadav, had the latter win big. Also Read - Bihar Triple Murder: Social Distancing Flouted as Cops Stop Tejashwi Yadav From Going to Gopalganj

The bypoll was conducted in Bihar’s Jokihat Assembly seat as sitting Janata Dal United MLA Sarfaraz Alam quit in April this  year after winning the Araria Lok Sabha seat while contesting as an RJD candidate. The seat fell vacant following the resignation of MLA Sarfaraz Alam. Candidates contesting for the Jokihat bypolls are JD-U’s Murshid Alam, RJD’s Shahnawaz Alam and an Independent candidate Mohammad Shabbir. Also Read - Along With Shramik Trains, Bihar Govt May Allow Migrants to Return Home in Private Vehicles Too

Even with several reports of EVM glitches and boycott of polls coming up due to malfuntioning of EVMs, 55 per cent voting turnout was recorded in Jokihat. A police official said, “It passed off peacefully barring some group clashes between supporters of rival candidates. Nearly 55 percent votes were cast amid tight security.”