New Delhi: Jagat Prakash Nadda, former health minister has been appointed as the working president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday. The decision was taken during the BJP’s Parliamentary Board meeting held earlier in he day.Also Read - 'Expecting Suggestions From High Command by Evening', Karnataka CM Yediyurappa on Possible Exit | Key Points

Reports claimed that the BJP’s parliamentary board requested Shah to continue till the party’s membership drive and organisational elections were completed but he pointed out that being the Union Home Minister he would be engaged in so many other matters. This is for the first time party has appointed a working president. Also Read - Karnataka: Who Will be The Next CM if BS Yediyurappa Quits? Check List of Probable Names Here

While speaking to news agency PTI, sources close to the party said that Shah’s tenure ends in December 2019 and he may not like to get an extension as the party has principal of ‘one man, one post’. Also Read - 'Concocted, Fabricated and Evidence-less': BJP on Pegasus Spyware Story

“BJP Parliamentary board has selected JP Nadda as working president. We won several elections under leadership of Amit Shah Ji. But since PM appointed him Home Minister, Amit Shah Ji himself said the responsibility of party president should be given to someone else,” said Union defence minister and BJP’s senior leader Rajnath Singh while speaking to reporters.

JP Nadda, who was the Health Minister in the previous term, was given responsibility of Uttar Pradesh ahead of the Lok Sabha polls in which the BJP bagged 62 out of the 80 seats in the politically-critical state.

Nadda, a RSS man, had started his political career with the ABVP in Patna. He represents Himachal Pradesh in Rajya Sabha and enjoys the confidence of the party’s top brass.

The decision to appoint Nadda came days after the BJP at a meeting of its national office bearers decided to carry out a membership drive to increase its members by 20 per cent followed by the party’s organisational polls. The party will start the drive from July 6, birth anniversary of its founder Syama Prasad Mookerjee.