New Delhi: Days after Rahul Gandhi stepped down as Congress president, senior leader Jyotiraditya Scindia also resigned as National General Secretary of the grand old party. Meanwhile on Sunday, while speaking to reporters, Scindia said, “I haven’t resigned today. I had submitted my resignation to Congress President Rahul Gandhi 8-10 days ago.” Also Read - Centre Targeting Those Supporting Farmers: Rahul Gandhi on I-T Raids on Taapsee Pannu & Anurag Kashyap

The former general secretary of AICC said on Sunday that he had submitted his resignation to Rahul Gandhi after accepting the people’s verdict and taking accountability. Scindia added, “I am not a leader who gives orders to others. I think when there is a responsibility, there comes accountability as well. Even I am responsible if performance isn’t good and therefore, I took the decision to resign.” He also expressed his gratitude towards Rahul Gandhi for entrusting him with the said responsibility and for giving the opportunity to serve their party. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2021: AIADMK, DMK Continue Seat-sharing Talks, Fate of Sasikala to be Decided

Notably, Scindia’s resignation from the All India Congress Committee (AICC) comes a day after reports suggested that the former Guna MP and Rajasthan Deputy CM Sachin Pilot may replace Rahul as the next president of the grand old party. (Also read: ‘Had Offered to Quit After LS Election Defeat,’ Says Kamal Nath) Also Read - Delhi MCD Election Results 2021 Updates: AAP Wins 4 Seats, Congress 1; Kejriwal, Sisodia Laud Victory

Earlier, several leaders of Congress party including Deepak Babaria and Vivek Tankha had resigned taking moral responsibility for the party’s humiliating defeat in Lok Sabha elections.

Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee (UPCC) Raj Babbar had quit soon after the Lok Sabha results came in. Kamal Nath had also offered his resignation from the post of Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee President.

The Congress party had suffered a drubbing even in the Hindi heartland states where only last year it had ousted the BJP from power in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Besides Gandhi himself was defeated in Amethi in Uttar Pradesh although he got elected from Wayanad in Kerala.