Lucknow, May 31: Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) candidate took an early lead against Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Mriganka Singh. After the 18 rounds of counting,  BJP candidate was trailing by over 42000 votes as RLD Tabassum Hasan extended her lead. Also Read - Lockdown 5.0 in UP: Is Yogi Govt Planning to Reopen Malls, Places of Worship Across State?

The RLD candidate has been supported by the Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Congress and the regional Nishad Party in the bypoll which was held on Monday. Also Read - 'Samples Taken Away by Monkeys do Not Include COVID-19 Swab Test Samples': Meerut Medical College Principle Clarifies

The taking cue from the BJP’s defeat in Gorakhpur, Phulpur by-polls in March by the SP-BSP combined candidate, the opposition parties rallied behind the RLD candidate jo defeat the ruling party in the state and the Centre. Also Read - UP Police Takes Away Metal Pot Full of Mughal-Era Coins Found by Labourers While Digging For Brick Kiln, SHO Makes Absurd Statement

If this trend continues, the BJP will taste yet another humiliating bypoll defeat in the state. Kairana has seen extreme communal polarisation in recent times. A loss in Kairana will bust a popular myth that the communal polarisation always favours the saffron party.

The counting for Noorpur Assembly seat is over and Naim Ul-Hasan of Samajwadi Party (SP) has reportedly won the election but offcial annoucement is yet to me made by the returning officer.  The SP candidate was supported by the entire opposition, including Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Rashtriya Lok Dal, Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party.

Kairana’s trends are being watched closely across the country as this could set in motion the opposition unity if its candidate wins and could undo the victory march of the BJP, which had earlier lost the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats in the state.