Lucknow, May 31: After a humiliating defeat in Gorakhpur and Phoolpur Lok Sabha by-elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party is set to lose another parliamentary seat in Uttar Pradesh. BJP candidate Mriganka Singh was trailing against RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan in the high-stake Kairana by-election, the counting for which is underway on Thursday. Also Read - CM Yogi Issues Fresh Instructions, Tasks Team-9 To Ensure All-Round Effort To Tackle Covid 2.0

After the 14 rounds of counting, Tabassum Hasan secured 2,86,705 votes, whereas Mriganka Singh was trailing with 2,44,627 votes. Hasan was leading by over 40,000 votes. She has been supported by the Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Congress and the regional Nishad Party in Kairana bypoll which was held on Monday. Also Read - Noida Lockdown Extended Till May 10 | Check Steps to Apply For e-pass Online

Just ahead of the polls, Lok Dal candidate Kanwar Hasan retired from the contest and joined RLD, further boosting Hasan’s chances. The seat had fallen vacant following the death of Mriganka Singh’s father, BJP MP Hukum Singh. Also Read - Uttar Pradesh Government Makes COVID Vaccine Free For Working Journalists And Their Families. Read Details

Kairana by-election results assume significance as this could set in motion the opposition unity if its candidate wins and could undo the victory march of the BJP, which had earlier lost the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats in the state.

After the Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the BJP had achieved an absolute majority with 282 seats out of 543. Now, it has 272, the exact number required for a simple majority. It has since lost six bypolls — Ajmer and Alwar in Rajasthan, Gorakhpur and Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh, Gurdaspur in Punjab, Ratlam in Madhya Pradesh.

As RLD inches closer to the victory, it is an encouraging news for opposition which displayed a show of strength at Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy’s swearing-in ceremony on May 23. Kairana bypoll outcome in favour of RLD may bring opposition parties closer and make a pitch for a grand alliance against the BJP in 2019 Lok Sabha elections.