Lucknow, May 31: RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan took an early lead of more than 12000 votes against BJP’s Mriganka Singh in Kairana by-election in Uttar Pradesh, as per trends. Tabassum Hasan was backed by Samajwadi Party, BSP, Congress and Nishad Party to take on the ruling BJP. Kairana bypoll result assumes significance for the BJP as a positive outcome is necessary for the saffron party to maintain its majority in the Lok Sabha. Also Read - BJP Spokesperson Sambit Patra Hospitalised With COVID-19 Symptoms

Kairana by-election result will also test the mettle of a united opposition with that of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah. also, stakes are high for the BJP as it had lost Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-elections to Samajwadi Party candidates who were backed by the BSP. Kairana parliamentary seat fell vacant in February after the death of BJP leader Hukum Singh. Just ahead of the polls, Lok Dal candidate Kanwar Hasan retired from the contest and joined RLD, further boosting Hasan’s chances. Also Read - Virat Kohli Should Divorce Anushka Sharma For Making 'Pataal Lok': BJP Minister Nandkishor Gurjar Gets Trolled For Bizarre Remark

Counting of votes for Kairana by-election result was underway. Catch live updates on Kairana bypoll result here. Also Read - Virtual Rallies, Conferences: This is How BJP Plans to Celebrate First Anniversary of Modi Govt 2.0