Lucknow, May 24: A day after opposition parties displayed a show of strength during the swearing-in ceremony of HD Kumaraswamy in Bengaluru, they received an encouraging news from Uttar Pradesh where a by-election will be held on Kairana Lok Sabha seat on May 28. Lok Dal candidate who was contesting against his sister-in-law and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) nominee Tabassum Hasan in the Kairana Lok Sabha by-election withdrew from the contest on Thursday. Also Read - Coronavirus: Day After CM Yogi's Visit, Noida Firm Sealed For Owner Not Disclosing Travel History

Lok Dal’s Kanwar Hasan withdrew the nomination and announced his support for the RLD nominee who is being backed by the Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Congress and Nishad Party. The development, which could unite the minority vote in favour of the RLD, could make the going tough for Mriganka Singh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate who is the daughter of Hukum Singh, whose death necessitated the by-election. Also Read - Gautam Buddh Nagar DM Applies For 'Leave' After UP CM Pulls Him Publicly Over 'Lapses' in COVID-19 Management

Confirming the development, UP RLD chief Masood Ahmad today told PTI, “Lok Dal candidate Kanwar Hasan today joined the RLD at a meeting held in Kairana in the presence of Jayant Chaudhary, the national vice-president of RLD.” Ahmad exuded confidence that the joint opposition candidate Tabassum Hasan will sweep the bypoll. Hasan would have divided Muslim votes. Five lakh votes in Kairana parliamentary seats are Muslims. Also Read - Every Little Deed Counts: This UP Cop Delivers Sweets to Elderly Man With Low Sugar | WATCH

Senior RLD leaders heaved a sigh of relief and said, “The possibility of split in Muslim votes will not happen.” “The process of forming a coalition (against the BJP) has started and soon, a grand alliance will be formed, the UP RLD chief said. RLD spokesperson Anil Dubey said, “Kanwar’s joining the RLD will strengthen the party in the bypolls.”

Voting will be held in Kairana on May 28. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is campaigning in the area to ensure that there was no repeat of Gorakhpur and Phulpur where the BJP lost to the Samajwadi Party in Lok Sabha by-elections. Kairana parliamentary constituency comprises five assembly segments — Shamli, Thanabhawan, Kairana (all in Shamli district) and Gangoh and Nakur (Saharanpur district). In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJPs Hukum Singh had bagged 5,65,909 votes as he defeated Nahid Hasan of the SP who got 3,29,081 votes.