New Delhi: The Congress-led Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan government on Tuesday announced to withdraw all the “political cases” filed by the previous BJP government against workers of political parties and Dalit activists, Law Minister P.C. Sharma said on Tuesday.

“Rajasthan government will withdraw cases related to Bharat Bandh only on merit,” said Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot.

“We (Congress) have been fighting (against the BJP government). Irrespective of any party those who have been fighting the BJP government which had sent people to jail… those political cases will be withdrawn,” Madhya Pradesh Law Minister P C Sharma said.

The move comes a day after Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati warned the Congress-led governments in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, saying she might have to “reconsider” her party’s outside support to them if cases against “innocent” persons framed in Bharat Bandh.

“If the newly-elected governments in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan do not act swiftly and withdraw the cases against the innocent persons framed in Bharat Bandh, the BSP may have to reconsider extending the outside support to the Congress governments,” she said in a hard-hitting press release on Monday.

Mayawati said the cases against the innocent people were framed out of political and caste considerations in Uttar Pradesh and other BJP-ruled states including MP and Rajasthan, which were previously under the BJP.

She said now that MP and Rajasthan are ruled by the Congress, the new governments should immediately withdraw such cases, failing which her party would have to reconsider its decision of extending outside support.

On December 12, Mayawati-led party extended its support to the Congress in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan to help the party form the government in both states.

In the 230-member strong Legislative Assembly of Madhya Pradesh, BJP — that ruled the state for 15 years, trailed marginally at 109, while the Samajwadi Party (SP) won 1 seat and Mayawati’s BSP bagged two seats. On the other hand, Independents won four seats all over the state.

Meanwhile, in the 199-seat Assembly of Rajasthan, the Congress again bagged 99 seats to dethrone the Vasundhara Raje led BJP which won 73 seats. The CPI-M won two seats, BSP six, Independents 13 and others six.