Thiruvananthapuram, Apr 8: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on announced the first list of 72 candidates for upcoming Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 on late Sunday evening. Party’s CM candidate BS Yeddyurappa would be contest the crucial Karnataka polls from Shikaripura.

Earlier in the day, a meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee was held at BJP’s Headquarters in Delhi to decide over the candidates. The announcement of the names was made by Union Minister JP Nadda.

(Karnataka Assembly Polls: Full List of 72 BJP Candidates)

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 is scheduled for May 12. The counting of votes in all 224 constituencies will be held on May 15. Results for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 will be announced on the same day. VVPAT machines, apart from EVMs, will be deployed in Karnataka for the polls.

The date of notification is April 17 and the last date to file nominations is April 24. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on April 25 and the last day for withdrawal is April 27.

With just a month to go for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018, both ruling Congress and opposition BJP have entered a high-pitched battle.

The tenure of 224-member Karnataka Assembly expires on May 28. Currently, the state is ruled by the Congress. The party is in power with 122 seats against the BJP’s 43.