New Delhi, Mar 27: The Election Commission (EC) will announce the schedule for Assembly elections in Karnataka today, reported news agency ANI. The announcement for Karnataka Assembly elections is likely to be made at 11 am. The model code of conduct will be put in place immediately after the election dates are announced. The term of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly will expire on May 28. Catch live updates on EC’s press conference on Karnataka Assembly polls. Also Read - Thanks to Karnataka Police, Woman Reunited With Her 9-Month-Old Son After He Was Left Abandoned

Polling and counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly elections are likely to be held by the end of April or the first week of May. In Karnataka polls, the contest is between the ruling Congress party and the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The saffron party is leaving no stone unturned to oust Chief Minister Siddaramaiah led government. Also Read - Here's the Cheque But...: Digvijaya Singh Donates Rs 1.11 Lakh For Ram Temple With One Condition

The Congress is going to polls under the leadership of Siddaramaiah, in its bid to retain its hold over the state. Karnataka is the only big state, besides Punjab, which is now ruled by the Congress. The JD-S, which is the third force in the state, has announced its pre-poll tie-up with the Bahujan Samaj Party. Also Read - Suvendu Vows To Defeat Mamata As Bengal CM Announces To Fight From Nandigram Seat | Key Points

A poll survey on Monday said the Congress will retain power in Karnataka, with an increased vote share and number of seats. The pre-poll survey conducted by C-Fore predicted that the party will increase its tally to 126 in the 224-member Assembly. The BJP is likely to win 70 seats this year as compared to 40 in 2013, whereas the JD(S) tally will go down from 40 to 27, said the survey.