New Delhi: The results of the crucial by-elections to 15 assembly constituencies in Karnataka will be declared today. The counting of votes, polled on December 5 started at 8 AM in 11 centers and a final picture is expected to be clear by noon. Also Read - Karnataka Bypolls: Counting of Votes on December 9 | All You Need to Know

Election officials have made all arrangements, including security for smooth and transparent counting.  “Arrangements have been made for counting of votes in the 15 Assembly segments on Monday from 8:00 a.m. at 11 centres, including three in Bengaluru for four urban seats. Postal ballots will be counted first, followed by counting of votes in EVMs,” Election Commission official G Jadiyappa told a news agency. Also Read - Karnataka Cop Hailed as 'Singham' After He Helps An Auto Rickshaw Driver | See Pic

Police have also imposed prohibitory orders and clamped down on activities that could disturb law and order.

The by-elections are considered a litmus test for four-month-old B S Yediyurappa-led BJP government in the state as it needs to win at least six of the 15 seats to remain in majority in the 224-member assembly.

The exit polls by local news channels and agencies have predicted clear majority for the ruling party (BJP) winning 9-12 of the 15 seats.

Parties confident of victory

While the BJP has exuded confidence that the people would have voted in favour of the party for stability and development, the Congress and JD(S) were optimistic that the defectors, who have been disqualified and are now the ruling party candidates, would be rejected by the electorate.

Speaking to reporters, a day before counting CM Yediyurappa had stated that his party would win at least 13 seats. “We will complete our term. Even people have the same expectations from us, he said.

In case the BJP fails to garner the required number of seats to retain majority, the state may witness another bout of political drama.

Speculations were rife about Congress and JD(S), which had parted ways on a bitter note after the collapse of the Kumaraswamy government, coming together and form a coalition ministry again, though leaders of the two parties have sent mixed signals on such a possibility ahead of the polls.

Why Bypolls Were Held?

The bypolls in the Assembly seats were necessitated following the resignation and disqualification of 14 Congress and three Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) rebel MLAs, which led to the collapse of the Kumaraswamy government on July 23. Of the total 15 seats, 12 were held by the Congress and three by JD(S).

The 15 constituencies that went to bypolls include Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapura, Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Vijaynagara, Chickballapura, KR Pura, Yeshwanthpura, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagara, Hosakote, KR Pete and Hunsur.

Live Updates

  • 3:52 PM IST

    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: “As a leader of legislative party, I need to respect democracy. I have resigned as Congress Legislative Party leader. I have submitted my resignation to Sonia Gandhi Ji,” Siddaramaiah said.

  • 3:51 PM IST

    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: Congress leader Siddaramaiah resigns as opposition leader, hands over resignation to Sonia Gandhi.

  • 2:41 PM IST
    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: Take a look at the final tally – BJP: 12; Congress: 2; JD(S): 0; Independent: 1
  • 1:19 PM IST

  • 1:18 PM IST

    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: Referring to BJP’s win, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, while addressing a poll rally in Jharkhand said,”Mandate in Karnataka was stolen through back door by Congress; people have now taught the party a lesson.”

  • 1:12 PM IST

    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: Of the total 15, BJP wins 12, Congress bags 2 and independent candidate Sharath Kumar Bachi Gowda wins 1.

  • 1:06 PM IST
    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: I am happy that people have given a very good verdict. Now, without any problem we can give a pro-people and a stable government, said BS Yediyurappa.
  • 12:24 PM IST

    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: Congress wins Shivaji Nagar and JHunsur constituencies. Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad emerges victorious from Shivaji Nagar. He has defeated his rival by a margin of 16, 325 votes.

  • 12:22 PM IST

    Karnataka Bypoll Results LIVE: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wins ten seats — Athani, Yellapur, Kagwad, Chikkaballapur, Krishnarajapura, Hirekerur, Ranebennur, Krishanrajpur, Mahalakshmi Layout and Gokak constituency.