New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced the bypolls schedule in Shimoga, Bellary, and Mandya in Karnataka. Addressing the media, Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said that the polling will be held on November 3.  The bypolls are being conducted because of the vacancies caused by the resignations of two BJP MPs and one JDS MLA.

In May assembly elections were conducted in Karnataka. The BJP had won 104 of the 222 seats, falling eight short of the 112-halfway mark. The Congress had bagged 78 seats and the JD-S 37 along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The Karnataka Assembly has a total strength of 224. Elections to 2 seats were deferred and voting took place for 222 seats. The total number in the House will go down from 222 to 221 as H D Kumaraswamy, who contested from two seats and won from both, will have to vacate one seat.

Apart from this, CEC also announced dates for the Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana Assembly elections 2018. He said, “Simultaneous elections will be held in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram, before 15th December and the counting of votes will take place on December 11.” Following the announcement, the Model Code of Conduct came into force in all four states. VVPAT machines will be used in all the four states.