Bengaluru, June 6: The HD Kumaraswamy-led Karnataka government saw its first Cabinet expansion today. As expected, many Congress MLAs made it to the Cabinet; the prominent ones being DK Shivakumar, KJ George, Priyank Khare, RV Deshpande, HK Patil and Shivashankara Reddy. KPJP MLA Shankar also took the oath of office. After hectic meetings to work out an amicable solution, the portfolios were divided between the allies. The Congress got Home, Irrigation, Bengaluru City Development, Industries, Health, Revenue, Urban Development, Rural Development, Agriculture, Medical Education, Housing, Labour, Women & Child Welfare, Forest & Environment, Mines & Geology, Social Welfare, Food & Civil Supplies, Law & Parliamentary Affairs, IT, BT and Science & Technology, Kannada Culture, Sports & Youth Affairs, Haj & Wakf and Minority Affairs, and Ports & Inland Transport Development departments. Also Read - Bihar Polls: Rahul Gandhi Accuses PM Modi of Not Talking About Problems Like Unemployment Faced by Our Country

The JD(S), besides Finance, got Excise, Information, Intelligence, General Administration, Planning & Statistics, Public Works Department (PWD), Power, Cooperation, Tourism, General Education, Animal Husbandry & Fisheries, Horticulture & Sericulture, Small-Scale Industries, Transport and Minor Irrigation. Portfolio distribution caused discord between the partners. However, the allies agreed that there would be no rotational arrangement and Kumaraswamy would continue to be the Chief Minister for the entire period. Also Read - Bihar Phase 1 Polls Updates: 71 Assembly Seats Across State Record 53.11% Voter Turnout Till 6PM

  Also Read - Vaccine, Jobs And Unemployment Allowance: High Political Drama in Bihar as Parties Wage Manifesto War Ahead of Polls

Serial NoCandidate NameParty
4Shamanuru ShivashankarppaINC
6Krishna Byre GowdaINC
7Rajshekar PatilINC
8Shivanand PatilINC
9Priyanka KhargeINC
11Zamir Ahmed KhanINC
12Puttaranga ShettyINC
13Shivashankara ReddyINC
16H D RevannaJD(S)
17GT DevegowdaJD(S)
18Bandappa KadhmpurJD(S)
19C S PuttarajuJD(S)
20H K KumaraswamyJD(S)
21SA RA MaheshJD(S)
22N MaheshJD(S)
23Venkatrao NadagowdaJD(S)

The two parties, which had fought an aggressive election against each other in many seats, cobbled together an alliance as soon as it became apparent that the BJP, despite being the single largest party in the Assembly, didn’t have the numbers to form the government on its own. While BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa met the Governor and the latter invited him to form the government, drawing flak from across the nation, the allies moved the Supreme Court against the decision. The allies also closeted their MLAs at a resort till Yeddyurappa resigned minutes before he was to prove his majority on the floor of the House.