New Delhi, May 20: Karnataka Chief Minister designate HD Kumaraswamy was mobbed by JD(S) workers for a selfie on Sunday, a news agency ANI reported. The agency shared a picture in which it can be seen that Kumaraswamy, who is also a leader of JD(s), is surrounded by his party workers. He is trying hard to make way for himself but all in vain. The workers have their cell phones out to click a picture with them. The incident took place in Le Meridien hotel of Bengaluru. Also Read - Suvendu Adhikari to File Nomination Papers From Nandigram Assembly Seat on March 12, Will Face Mamata Banerjee

A day after BS Yeddyurappa resigned as Karnataka chief minister ahead of floor test in Vidhana Soudha and Governor Vajubhai Vala invited JD(S)’s HD Kumaraswamy, who is the leader of Congress-JD(S) combine, to form the government.  Kumaraswamy will meet Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi on May 21 to extend his gratitude to them. “I will also discuss how many Congress and JD(S) MLAs will become ministers,” he had said. Also Read - Assam Assembly Election 2021: Congress Releases First Candidate List Full of Fresh Faces

Earlier on Saturday, after meeting the Governor, Kumaraswamy had said the swearing-in ceremony would take place tentatively between 12 and 1.50 pm at Kanteerava stadium on May 21. But later in the night, he said the swearing-in ceremony would take place on May 23 as May 21 happens to be the date on which former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi was killed in a suicide bombing at Sriperumbudur near Chennai in 1991.

Asked by when he will prove majority, Kumaraswamy said, “As soon as possible we will call the assembly session to prove majority…. though Governor has given 15 days, we will not require that much time.”

The post-election stitched alliance of JDS and Congress, which claims the support of 117 members, has already staked its claim to form the government and said it would be headed by Kumaraswamy.

Earlier Kumaraswamy, who is the third son of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, had headed the BJP-JD(S) coalition government for twenty months from January 2006.