New Delhi: In a massive jolt to the coalition Karnataka government, eight Congress and three Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) legislators resigned from their respective Assembly segments on Saturday and soon after BJP’s DV Sadananda Gowda dropped a bomb when he said, “BS Yeddyurappa will be the Chief Minister if a new government is formed in Karnataka.”Also Read - Third Wave of Corona in Karnataka? Rising Viral Flu Cases of Children in 12 Districts Keep Authorities on Their Toes

Speaking to the media, Gowda said that if the Governor calls the party to prove majority on the floor of the house then they certainly will. “Governor is the supreme authority, as per the constitutional mandate if he calls us, certainly we are ready to form the government. We are the single largest party, we have got 105 people with us.” Also Read - Karnataka Lockdown: Officials Take Strict Action Against People For Entering State Without RT-PCR Test Report

In the 225-member Assembly, including one nominated, the Congress has 79 excluding the Speaker, JD-S 37 and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 105. Also Read - Karnataka: Was Offered Money to Join BJP in 2019, Claims Former Minister Shrimant Patil

With the support of three other members, including one each from the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party (KPJP) (a regional outfit) and an Independent, the ruling alliance has 118, 5 more than the halfway mark of 113, required for a simple majority.

The eight Congress MLAs who resigned are Pratapgauda Patil (Maski), B.C. Patil (Hirekerur), Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak), Shivram Hebbar (Yellapur) and Mahesh Kumatahalli (Athani), Ramalinga Reddy (BTM Layout), S.T Somashekar (Yeshvantpur) and S.N. Subba Reddy (KGF in Kolar).

The three JD-S MLAs are A.H. Vishwanath (Hunsur), N. Narayana Gowda (K.R. Pete) and Gopalaiah (Mahalakshmim).

Though Jarkiholi resigned on July 1, his resignation was not accepted by the Speaker, as it was faxed to his office, which is against the procedure.

Congress legislator Anand Singh from Vijayanagara segment resigned on July 1. As he personally handed over his resignation letter to the Speaker, he acknowledged receiving it.

As the legislators could not meet the Speaker in his office, they went to the Raj Bhavan to apprise Governor Vajubhai Vala of their decision to resign.

In a related development, senior Congress legislator Ramalinga Reddy told reporters that he had also decided to resign from the party.

With IANS inputs

Live Updates

  • 9:45 PM IST

  • 9:15 PM IST

  • 7:13 PM IST

  • 6:41 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Some Congress workers are now protesting outside the party office against the MLAs who submitted their resignations to the Assembly Speaker today.

  • 6:35 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: In a major development, BC Patil, a Karnataka Congress MLA confirmed that all 11 rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs are being flown to Goa.

  • 6:25 PM IST

  • 6:24 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Refuting reports of the BJP orchestrating this crisis in the Congress-JD(S) coalition government, BS Yeddyurappa said, “Me & my party have nothing to do with developments in other rival parties. I heard through media that Congress-JDS legislators have resigned from their Karnataka Assembly seats. I’m categorically reiterating that BJP has absolutely no say on the issue.”

  • 5:54 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Some reports suggest that all 11 rebel MLAs are being flown to Goa right now.

  • 5:39 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: All rebel 11 Congress-JD(S) MLAs have left the Raj Bhavan in a mini bus.

  • 4:50 PM IST