Top Recommended Stories


Karnataka Floor Test: Yediyurappa Wins Trust Vote, Speaker Ramesh Kumar Resigns

Get the highlights on Karnataka vote of confidence here.

Updated: July 29, 2019 1:10 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Sharmita Kar

Karnataka Floor Test: Yediyurappa Wins Trust Vote, Speaker Ramesh Kumar Resigns
KR Ramesh Kumar resigns as Karnataka Speaker

Bengaluru: Days after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) party came into power, BS Yediyurappa will face the crucial floor test today in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Also Read:

The newly sworn-in Chief Minister on Sunday exuded confidence saying, “100%, I will prove majority.”

Yediyurappa staked the claim and was sworn in on July 26, three days after the 14-month old Congress-JD(S) coalition government fell after losing trust vote in Vidhan Soudha.

On Sunday, the Karnataka Speaker disqualified 14 more MLAs of the Congress-Janata Dal (secular) (JDS) rebel MLAs, raising the total to 17. All the disqualified legislators said that they would challenge Kumar’s decision in the Supreme Court on Monday.

In the meeting, Kumar also mentioned, “The disqualified MLAs cannot fight elections until the expiry of the term of the 15th assembly.” Kumar added that they would be barred from contesting even if there is a by-election on these seats.

Earlier, the Speaker had disqualified three rebel Congress MLAs under the anti-defection law. Speaking to reporters, Kumar had said that the resignation by the three MLAs — Ramesh Jarkiholi, Mahesh Kumathalli and R Shankar — were “not voluntary and genuine”.

Following the disqualification of the rebel MLAs, the strength of the house (Vidhan Soudha) has reduced to 208. As a result, the BJP needs to acquire 104 votes to prove majority. Along with the support of one independent MLA, the party currently has 106 seats, keeping Yediyurappa’s position in a secured state.

Meanwhile, Yediyurappa is also likely to pass the Finance Bill in today’s Vidhan Soudha meeting. The Chief Minister had been given time till July 31 for the same.

Live Updates

  • 1:08 PM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: The 69-year-old Karnataka Assembly Speaker, KR Ramesh Kumar who represents the Congress party from Srinivasapura constituency in Kolar gave his farewell speech moments after Yediyurappa won the floor test. “I have decided to relieve myself from this office…I have decided to resign,” he said.

  • 12:46 PM IST

  • 12:32 PM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: In a shocking turn of events moments after the floor test, Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar tenders his resignation from the post.

  • 12:20 PM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: On the side note, CM Yediyurappa tabled the much-awaited Finance Bill for three months. It is a huge relief for salaried government employees as the Assembly passed the Finance Bill through voice vote.

  • 12:08 PM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: Meanwhile, Opposition leaders Siddaramaiah and HK Patil have raised objection over the vote-on-account.

  • 12:06 PM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: Until another six months when the next trust vote can be moved in the Assembly, the BS Yediyurappa-led BJP government is safe where it stands.

  • 11:49 AM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: BS Yediyurappa wins the floor test through a voice vote, retains his position as the state’s Chief Minister.

  • 11:47 AM IST

  • 11:37 AM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: “We hope you (BS Yediyurappa) will be a chief minister but there is no guarantee of that. You are with the rebels, can you give a stable government? It’s impossible! I oppose this confidence motion because the reason is this government is unconstitutional and immoral,” says Siddaramaiah.

  • 11:36 AM IST

    Karnataka Floor Test LIVE: “Unfortunately, Yediyurappa has never been a CM with people’s mandate. Where’s the mandate? You didn’t have it in 2008, 2018 or even now. When he took an oath there were 222 MLAs in House, where did the BJP have 112 MLAs for a majority? They had 105 seats. That is not the mandate,” Congress leader Siddaramaiah hits at Yediyurappa.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: July 29, 2019 9:41 AM IST

Updated Date: July 29, 2019 1:10 PM IST