New Delhi: After two more Congress MLAs namely K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj quit in Karnataka, the Congress meeting in Bengaluru came to an end on Wednesday. Meanwhile, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President Dinesh Gundu Rao said, “Next course of action…lot of action is coming up. These meetings are going to continue.” Also Read - 7 Best Things To Do When in Coorg- The Scotland of India

According to reports, the rebel MLAs stationed at a Mumbai hotel had sort police protection in view of ‘threat to their lives’ with senior coalition government leaders arriving in the city to mediate. Also Read - Karnataka Agriculture Minister Takes COVID-19 Vaccine at Home, Centre Seeks Report

On the other hand, 13-month-old HD Kumaraswamy government, which remained on the edge was asked to prove its majority in the Assembly on July 17 by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar who refused on Tuesday to accept resignations of all the 13 Congress and JD-S legislators. Also Read - Coronavirus: 5 States Witness Spurt in Cases in 24 Hours, Maharashtra Extends Lockdown in 2 Districts | Key Points

With suspended lawmaker R. Roshan Baig quitting, the number of Congress lawmakers who have resigned has gone up to 12. Three JD-S MLAs also resigned. Besides them, one legislator of regional party KPJP and an Independent, have also quit as ministers and withdrawn their support to the Kumaraswamy government.

The Speaker, however, refused to accept the resignations of the Congress and JD-S members, saying eight of them were not in the prescribed format and five others needed to explain why their action did not fall under the purview of the anti-defection law.

Live Updates

  • 12:08 AM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Karnataka CMO announced that the Cabinet meeting will have all the ministers as they have only submitted their resignations to their party presidents and not to the Chief Minister.

  • 12:05 AM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Karnataka Cabinet meeting to be held on July 11 at Vidhan Soudha in Bengaluru.

  • 12:04 AM IST

  • 11:45 PM IST

  • 10:54 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: News agency ANI tweeted, “Section 144 (prohibits assembly of more than 4 people in an area) imposed at Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru from 11th-14th of July.”

  • 8:53 PM IST

  • 8:51 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah said, “What made BJP people do rowdyism like that? BJP MLAs and workers are rowdies. I condemn it. It is [quite] evident that BJP leaders, Amit Shah and Narendra Modi are behind all this. They are defecting and threatening our MLAs.”

  • 8:41 PM IST
    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: A meeting of Congress leaders including Ghulam Nabi Azad, KC Venugopal, Mallikarjun Kharge, G Parameshwara, Siddaramaiah, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Eshwara Khandre and others is underway following the resignation of 2 more MLAs namely K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj.
  • 8:35 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Speaking on Congress MLA Sudhakar’s resignation, Former Chief Minister of Karnataka Siddaramaiah said, “Sudhakar is not a BJP MLA or BJP worker, just because he has resigned doesn’t mean he is a BJP MLA. As long as his resignation is not accepted he continues to be the member of Congress party. As a CLP leader, I was trying to convince him.”

  • 8:30 PM IST

    Karnataka Crisis Live Updates: Commenting on the crisis in the state, Basavaraj Bommai, BJP MLA added, “I urge Governor to intervene and throw away this Kumaraswamy government. I urge Kumaraswamy if you continue with Congress your image will be totally tarnished. In good wisdom resign and vacate the place.”