New Delhi: Though two Independent lawmakers — H Nagesh and R Shankar withdrew their support from the ruling Congress-JDS coalition government in Karnataka, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy said that he was relaxed and enjoying whatever is happening.

“If 2 MLAs withdraw their support, what will be the numbers? I’m totally relaxed. I know my strength. Whatever is going on in media in the past week, I am enjoying,” said Kumaraswamy, while speaking to reporters today.

Notably, Nagesh and Shankar’s defection brings down the numbers of the ruling coalition from 118 to 116 – the halfway mark stands at 113.

Besides Kumaraswamy, Deputy CM G Parameshwara also stated that the coalition government in Karnataka is very much stable.”We have been saying that BJP is luring our MLAs through money and power but their attempts to destabilise the government will fail,” Parameshwara stated.

Meanwhile, BJP claimed that ‘Operation Lotus’ will be successful in the coming days. “They (Independent MLAs) must have thought that they should join BJP that received the mandate instead of those who formed unnatural alliance. I’m getting a feeling that Operation Lotus will be successful in the coming days,” said BJP leader Ram Shinde.

‘Operation Lotus’ is a reference to BJP’s alleged bid to lure several opposition MLAs to defect to ensure stability of its then government headed by Yeddyurappa in 2008.

Their remarks comes hours after Independent MLAs H Nagesh and R Shankar withdrew their support from the government of HD Kumaraswamy amid a huge political turmoil in Karnataka.

“Today is Makar Sankranti, on this day we want a change in the govt. The govt should be efficient, so I am withdrawing my support today,” said R Shankar – the forest, environment and ecology minister in the Kumaraswamy Cabinet.

“My support to coalition govt was to provide good and stable govt which utterly failed. There’s is no understanding among coalition partners. So, I decided to go with BJP to install stable govt and see that govt performs better than the coalition,” said H Nagesh.

In the 224-member Assembly, BJP has 104 members, Congress-79, JDS 37, BSP, KPJP and Independent one each, besides Speaker. BSP, KPJP and an Independent are supporting the ruling coalition.