New Delhi, May 15: As definite results of the Karnataka Assembly Elections came pouring in on Tuesday, the Congress, quick to realise it did not have the numbers required, offered support to the JD(S). “We have had a telephonic talk with Deve Gowda ji and his son Kumaraswamy ji and they have agreed to take our support,” said Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad. Party’s Karnataka unit chief G Parameswar said, “We thank voters and accept their mandate. No party has got full majority. We are giving support to JDS to form the government.” Congress’ outgoing Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is likely to meet the Governor later in the evening to formally resign from the post. He has won from Badami even as he lost the Chamundeshwari, a seat he was anyway not too likely to win from. Also Read - Year After Quitting Congress, Urmila Matondkar Joins Shiv Sena in Presence of Uddhav Thackeray

Meanwhile, BJP Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa won from Shikaripura by a comfortable margin of over 35,000 votes. Even as the BJP rejoiced over its historic lead and the collapse of one of the few remaining strongholds of the Congress, there were voices doubting the saffron party’s comfortable lead, hinting at the use of unfair means. Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray said, “Just one time, I want BJP to head into elections with ballot papers & not EVMs. All the apprehensions will go away.” Earlier in the day, Congress leader Mohan Prakash had also questioned the use of EVMs in elections. “I am saying it from day 1, there is no political party in India which has not raised questions on EVMs, even BJP has done it in the past. Now when all parties are doubting EVMs then what problem does BJP have in conducting polls through ballot,” he had asked. Also Read - Jammu And Kashmir: Voting Underway In 2nd Phase of DDC Polls Amid Tight Security

A buoyant Prakash Javadekar, BJP’s state in-charge for Karnataka, said, “People of Karnataka want good governance, that is why they have chosen BJP. This is a big victory for the party. Congress is losing state after state & we are winning state after state.” Despite its poor showing, the Congress refused to pin the blame on party chief Rahul Gandhi and said it was the local leadership to be blamed. “Rahul Gandhi did his best, but it is we who have lost the elections. We, the local leadership, should have en-cashed it in a proper way & because of which we lost it,” said DK Shivkumar, Karnataka Minister. Many of Congress ministers in the state are trailing in their constituencies. Also Read - GHMC Elections 2020: 35% Total Turnout Recorded; Counting of Votes on Dec 4

The BSP, fighting this election in alliance with the JD(S), made history of sorts when its candidate N Mahesh won from Kollegal constituency.