Bengaluru, May 15: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate N Mahesh won Kollegal assembly constituency in Karnataka Assembly elections 2018. BSP has created history as it is the first time that the party has won a seat in Karnataka. In the assembly elections held in 2013, Mahesh was in the second place and lost to Congress by over 10,000 votes.Also Read - Mayawati joins Twitter to interact with media, people

BSP’s Mahesh managed to get 31362 votes i.e 40.62% vote share. The runner-up Congress’ A.R. Krishna Murthy got 24764 votes which is 32.07 per cent vote share. On the other hand, the BJP’s GN Nanjunda Swamy was in the third spot. Also Read - Lone BSP Minister in Karnataka Cabinet N Mahesh Quits, Vows to Continue Support to JD(S)-Congress Coalition

Kollegal constituency is reserved for Schedule Category (SC) candidates. The total number of voters in Kollegal is 1, 93, 293 while 1,00,659 are male voters account and 98, 920 are female voters. From 1957 to 2013, the Congress has won 10 times whereas the BJP has won only once in the 2009 bypoll. Also Read - Karnataka Political Row: SC to Hear Congress Petition Against Pro Tem Speaker KG Bopaiah Today

Kollegal is reserved for SC category candidates contesting in the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018. In Kollegal Vidhan Sabha, assembly constituency number 222, BJP has contested G.N. Nanjunda Swamy and Congress has contested A.R. Krishna Murthy. The incumbent MLA is Congress’ S.Jayanna.

In total, there are more than 2654 candidates, including 219 women, in the fray for 224 seats in Karnataka. As per the data released by Chief Electoral Office in Karnataka, the BJP has contested for all the 224 seats, while the Congress has contested on 222 seats. The HD Devegowda-led Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) has contested on 201 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) led by Mayawati, which came into an alliance with the JD(S), has contested on 20 seats.