Bengaluru, May 15: Counting of votes for Karnataka election results 2018 will be held today. 222 out of the 225 seats of Karnataka Assembly went to polls on May 12. A record 72.13 per cent of the 5.06-crore electorate voted in Karnataka election. Zee News will host live streaming of Karnataka election results on its Hindi channel. Click here to watch the online telecast of coverage on the counting of votes for Karnataka election results. Catch live updates on Karnataka election results here.Also Read - Karnataka SSLC 2022 Schedule Released on; Exam to Begin From March 28

All three major contenders – the ruling Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal-Secular or JD-S – have claimed to win the fiercely-fought Karnataka Assembly polls. The Congress, led by incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and party’s national president Rahul Gandhi, left no stone unturned in a bid to create history as no incumbent government has been re-elected in Karnataka since 1985. Also Read - BJP Releases Final List Of 6 Candidates For Goa Election

The BJP made an all-out bid to oust the Siddaramaiah government in Karnataka and is looking to come back to power in the state with B S Yeddyurappa, its chief ministerial candidate. The JD-S, led by its chief ministerial candidate and state president H D Kumaraswamy, is trying to revive itself in the state politics. Seven out of nine exit polls gave the BJP an edge over the Congress in a fractured mandate. Also Read - UP Election 2022 Latest Update: Digital Campaigns On Full Swing, Know Important Dates For All Seven Poll Phases

Election to Bengaluru’s Raja Rajeshwari (RR) Nagar constituency had been postponed to May 28 following the seizure of nearly 10,000 voter IDs from a flat and countermanded in Jayanagar seat due to the death of BJP contestant B N Vijaya Kumar on May 4. In the outgoing assembly, the Congress has 122 legislators. On the other hand, the BJP has 48 legislators and the JD-S has 40 seats.