New Delhi, May 15: As Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to reach the majority mark (112) in Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018, Congress has announced formal support to Janata Dal Secular (JDS). Addressing media, senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said,”We had a telephonic conversation with Deve Gowda ji & Kumaraswamy. They have accepted our offer. Hopefully, we will be together.” Also Read - Delhi Chalo: Rahul Gandhi Backs Protesting Farmers, Says Modi Govt Will Have To Take Back 'The Black Law'

A senior Congress leader also said that both the parties are jointly meeting the Governor in the evening today. Speaking to reporters, Congress leader G. Parameshwara said,”We accept the mandate of the people. We bow our heads to the verdict. We don’t have numbers to form govt. The Congress has offered to support JD(S) to form govt.” Also Read - Amarinder Singh Condemns Haryana Govt's Attempts To Prevent Farmers March To Delhi

TV reports also said that former Congress president Sonia Gandhi has spoken to Deve Gowda. She has reportedly asked Ghulam Nabi Azad to tell the JDS leadership that Congress was ready to accept Gowda’s son HD Kumaraswamy as the next chief minister of Karnataka. Also Read - Congress Leader Ahmed Patel Laid to Rest in Gujarat’s Bharuch, Rahul Gandhi Attends Funeral

Reacting to the Congress-JDS meet, BJP, chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa said,”Shortly we will be knowing the final figures, then we’ll decide the future plan. I don’t want to talk about Congress or JD(S).” Furthermore he asserted that the Bharatiya Janata Party and its leaders will consider all the possibilities.

Earlier in the day, ahead of the counting, Senior Congress leader Ashok Gehlot had also said that the party is open to an alliance with JD(S). (Also Read: Karnakata Elections 2018 Results: Omar Abdullah Targets Congress Leaders Blaming EVMs For Loss)

Meanwhile, the BJP is currently ahead in 104 seats, followed by the Congress at 76 and JD(S) at 40. According to the Election Commission, the counting is still on in 126 seats.