New Delhi, May 22: Karnataka chief minister-designate HD Kumaraswamy on Tuesday said that there are no differences between the JD(S) and Congress over portfolio distribution. Talking to media, Kumaraswamy said, “Today we took a decision regarding the expansion (of the cabinet). Speaker and deputy speaker would be elected on 25 May. Portfolios would be decided day after tomorrow.” Also Read - Kunal Kamra Reacts to 1.7 Million Dislikes on YouTube Video 'Aaja Beta Carry Teko Roast Sikhaye', Says 'Carry Fans Can Join BJP IT Cell'

HD Kumaraswamy will be taking oath as chief minister tomorrow alone and the rest of his cabinet will take oath after the trust vote, which is also likely to be held on May 23. Earlier on Monday, Kumaraswamy had met Congress President Rahul Gandhi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi at their residence and invited them for his swearing-in ceremony. Apart from them, Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati, Kerala chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan, and CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury will also be attending the swearing-in ceremony. (ALSO READ: Karnataka Result Was an Anti-Congress Mandate, Says Amit Shah) Also Read - Sanjay Raut Blames 'Namaste Trump' Event For COVID-19 Spread in Gujarat, Targets Centre For Poor Lockdown Planning

Congress, which won 78 seats in Karnataka Assembly elections, is likely to get 20 berths in the 33-member Karnataka cabinet. The JD(S), which has 37 MLAs after H D Kumaraswamy vacated his Ramanagara seat, will get the rest of the seats. Congress has reportedly decided to give the deputy CM post to G Parameshwara, who is from the Dalit community. However, there is a demand from Lingayats that a Deputy CM’s post should be given to a person from the community. Congress will try to fulfill the demand to erase the anti-Lingayat tag it had earned post-Siddaramaiah government’s efforts to give it a minority religion status. (Also Read: I Was Constantly in Touch With Those Missing MLAs: Cong Leader DK ShivakumarH D Kumaraswamy Likely to Take Oath Alone as Karnataka CM on May 23)

In Karnataka elections, the BJP won 104 of the 222 seats, falling eight short of the 112-halfway mark. The Congress bagged 78 seats and the JD-S 37 along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The Karnataka Assembly has a total strength of 224. Elections to 2 seats were deferred and voting took place for 222 seats.