Bengaluru, Jun 8: Karnataka chief minister H D Kumaraswamy on Friday allocated various departments among 27 cabinet ministers from the Janata Dal (Secular) and Congress. Kumaraswamy held 11 portfolios including finance with himself, whereas his deputy G Parameshwara kept three ministries including home department.

In Karnataka cabinet, D K Shivakumar, who played an instrumental role in the formation of the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in the state, was given two ministries – irrigation from water resources department and medical education from health and family welfare department.

“Governor Vajubhai Vala has allocated the portfolios to all the 27 cabinet ministers, including the Deputy Chief Minister of the Congress, on the advice of Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy,” said Raj Bhavan in a communique.

Karnataka Cabinet: List of Ministers With Portfolios

Chief Minister HD KumaraswamyDepartment of Cabinet Affairs
Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms
Department Finance including Excise, Institutional Finance and Small Savings and Lotteries
Intelligence Wing from Home Department
Information and Public Relations from Kannada and Culture, Information and Public Relation Department
Planning and Statics Department
Energy Department
Department of Public Enterprises
Infrastructure Development Department
Textile from Commerce and Industries Department
Any other Department/Board and Corporations not specifically allocated
Deputy CM G ParameshwaraHome Department excluding Intelligence wing
Subjects pertaining to Bangalore City, viz, BBMP, BDA, BWSSB, BMRDA, Directorate of Town Planning from Urban Development Department
Youth Empowerment and Sports Department
H D RevannaPublic Works Department excluding Ports and Island Transport
R V DeshpandeRevenue Department excluding Muzrai
Skill Development, Entrepreneurship and Livelihood Department
Bandeppa KashmpurCo-operation Department
D K ShivakumarMajor and Medium Irrigation from Water Resources Department
Medical Education from Health and Family Welfare Department
G T DevegowdaHigher Education from Education Department
K J GeorgeLarge and Medium Scale Industries from Commerce and Industries Department including Sugar
IT and BT, Science and Technology Department
D C ThammannaTransport Department
Krishna ByregowdaRural Development and Panchayat Raj Department
Law, Justice and Human Rights Department
Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation Department
Managuli Mallapa ChannaveerappaHorticulture Department excluding Sericulture Department
N H Shivashankara ReddyAgriculture Department
S R Srinivas (Vasu)Small Scale Industries from Commerce and Industries Department
Jarakiholi Ramesh LaxmanraoMunicipality and Local Bodies from Urban Development Department
Forts and Inland Transport Department from Public Works Department
Venkatarao NadagowdaAnimal Husbandry and Fisheries Department
Priyank KhargeSocial Welfare Department
C S PuttarajuMinor Irrigation from Water Resources Department
U T Abdul KhadirCity Corporations excluding BBMB and subjects pertaining to Bangalore City, Urban Development Authorities excluding subjects pertaining to Bangalore Directorate of Urban Land Transport, KUWS and DB and KUIDFC from Urban Development Department
Housing Department
SA RA MaheshTourism Department
Sericulture from Horticulture Department
BZ Zameer Ahmed KhanFood and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs Department
Minority Welfare and Wakf Department
N MaheshPrimary and Secondary Education from Education Department
Shivanand PatilHealth and Family Welfare Department excluding Medical Education
VenkataramanappaLabour Department
Rajshekhar Baswaraj PatilMines and Zoology from Commerce and Industries Department
Muzrai from Revenue Department
C Puttaranga ShettyBackward Classes Welfare Department
R ShankarForest, Ecology and Environment Department
JayamalaWomen and Child Development, Empowerment of Differently-abled and Senior Citizens
Kannada and Culture from Kannada and Culture, Information and Public Relation Department

The 27-member ministry has 15 ministers from the Congress, including Deputy Chief Minister and 10 from JD-S, including the Chief Minister, and one from its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and one Independent.

25 legislators were inducted in the state cabinet including 23 from the coalition partners – Congress and JD(S) – and one BSP MLA and an Independent. The JD(S) ministers are HD Revanna, Bandeppa Kashempur, GT Deve Gowda, DC Thammanna, MC Managuli, SR Srinivas, Venkatrao Nadegouda, CS Puttaraju and SR Mahesh.

The Congress ministers were R V Deshpande, D K Shivakumar, KJ George, Krishna Byre Gowda, Shiva Shankar Reddy, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Priyank Kharge, U.T. Abdul Khader, Zameer Ahmed Khan, Shivanand Patil, Venkat Ramanappa, Rajasekhar Basavaraj Patil, Puttaranga Shetty and Jayamala.CM Kumaraswamy’s brother HD Revanna was allocated public works department (PWD) excluding post and inland transport.