Karnataka, May 20: In a fresh development in Karnataka Assembly elections 2018 high-voltage drama, police have seized eight Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) without batteries from the house of a labourer in  Vijayapura district of Karnataka, reported a news agency ANI.  Further, a case has been registered and investigation will be conducted in the incident.

“Eight covers of VVPATs were found from a shed in Bijapur district. Labourers were using the cover as a box to keep their clothes. DC is on the spot, we are verifying further facts. There is no machine there,” Chief Election Officer of Karnataka told the news agency.

On May 19, BS Yeddyurappa resigned as Karnataka Chief Minister after failing to muster support to cross the majority mark ahead of the commencement of Supreme Court ordered floor-test. Now, Janata-Dal-Secular’s legislative party leader H.D. Kumaraswamy will take oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Wednesday, May 23 and will form the government in Karnataka in alliance with the Congress. “The Governor has invited me to form the next government as the leader of the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) legislative party with the support of the Congress, which is our alliance partner,” Kumaraswamy told the media outside the Raj Bhavan.

The Karnataka Assembly Results 2018 came out on May 15. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 104 seats which were eight short of winning the majority mark of 111 seats. First, Karnataka governor had invited BJP to form the government and gave them 15 days time to prove their majority on the floor to assembly. Following which, the Congress had moved to the Supreme Court. Hearing the plea, the Supreme Court had reduced the time given by the Governor to the BJP to prove simple majority in the house and asked the party to hold the trust vote on May 19 at 4 pm.

In Karnataka elections, the BJP won 104 of the 222 seats, falling eight short of the 112-halfway mark. The Congress bagged 78 seats and the JD-S 37 along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The Karnataka Assembly has a total strength of 224. Elections to 2 seats were deferred and voting took place for 222 seats. The total number in the House will go down from 222 to 221 as H D Kumaraswamy, who contested from two seats and won from both, will have to vacate one seat.