New Delhi, May 21: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah in his first press conference after the resignation of BS Yeddyurappa as Karnataka chief minister said that Karnataka result is an anti-Congress mandate. Addressing the press conference, Shah also said that in the polls, BJP emerged as the single largest party and their vote share saw a major increase. The mandate was clearly anti-Congress, he added. (Karnataka Assembly Floor Test: All You Need to Know About The Number Game) Also Read - Amarinder Singh Condemns Haryana Govt's Attempts To Prevent Farmers March To Delhi

Shah even questioned JD(S) and Congress alliance by saying, “Congress & JD(S) formed an alliance against the people’s mandate. This is what I call an unholy alliance. Now, they (Congress) like EVM and Election Commission. It’s a good sign that opposition now likes both of them even after what they have in hand is an incomplete victory. All I can say is hopefully they like EVM and Election Commission even when they lose and abide by SC’s order”. Also Read - Congress Leader Ahmed Patel Laid to Rest in Gujarat’s Bharuch, Rahul Gandhi Attends Funeral

The BJP chief also congratulated the people of Karnataka for making them victorious. On being asked about horse trading, Shah said that they (Congress) blamed us for horse trading but we had the right, so we claimed for it (to form the government). “Congress has falsely claimed that Yeddyurappa asked for seven days from the Governor for proving majority. If it was the case, they should have asked for the letter for him. Congress lawyer lied in the court,” added BJP President Amit Shah.

“In both, Goa and Manipur, Congress despite being the single largest party, had not staked claims, so the Governor invited us on both occasions.  History shows misuse of Article 356 was done most number of times by the Congress party. The Congress has no right to preach about Constitution and Democracy. It is the same party which banned the media during the emergency,” said Shah.

Karnataka Polls:
On May 19, BS Yeddyurappa resigned as Karnataka Chief Minister after failing to muster support to cross the majority mark ahead of the commencement of Supreme Court ordered floor-test. Now, Janata-Dal-Secular’s legislative party leader H.D. Kumaraswamy will take oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Wednesday, May 23 and will form the government in Karnataka in alliance with the Congress. “The Governor has invited me to form the next government as the leader of the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) legislative party with the support of the Congress, which is our alliance partner,” Kumaraswamy told the media outside the Raj Bhavan.

The Karnataka Assembly Results 2018 came out on May 15. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 104 seats which were eight short of winning the majority mark of 111 seats. First, Karnataka governor had invited BJP to form the government and gave them 15 days time to prove their majority on the floor to assembly. Following which, the Congress had moved to the Supreme Court. Hearing the plea, the Supreme Court had reduced the time given by the Governor to the BJP to prove simple majority in the house and asked the party to hold the trust vote on May 19 at 4 pm.

In Karnataka elections, the BJP won 104 of the 222 seats, falling eight short of the 112-halfway mark. The Congress bagged 78 seats and the JD-S 37 along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The Karnataka Assembly has a total strength of 224. Elections to 2 seats were deferred and voting took place for 222 seats. The total number in the House will go down from 222 to 221 as H.D Kumaraswamy, who contested from two seats and won from both, will have to vacate one seat.