Bengaluru, June 6: Disappointed over not securing a berth in the Karnataka cabinet, a total of eight Congress leaders held a meeting in Bengaluru. The Congress leaders, who held a meeting following the Karnataka cabinet expansion, are NA Harris, Dr Sudhakar, Rahim Khan, Bhyrati Basavaraju, S Shivalli, Satish Jarakiholi, Eshwar Khandre, and MTB Nagaraj. Also Read - 'Tell Country Exactly What's Happening': Rahul Gandhi to Centre on India-China Face-Off

Expressing disappointment, former minister HK Patil said that he poured his sweat and blood for the Congress party and worked with Rajiv Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi but still wasn’t offered any ministerial berth in the Karnataka cabinet. Also Read - Sonia Gandhi Laments Plight of Migrants Amid Lockdown, Accuses Centre of Turning Deaf Ears to Their Pain

Not just Patil, several other senior members of the Congress party including MB Patil, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Ramalinga Reddy, R Roshan Baig, H K Patil, Shyamnur Shivashankarappa, Tanvir Sait and Satish Jarkhiholi, were dropped. The announcement of the list was soon followed by supporters of many Congress ministers holding protests and demonstrations against their exclusion. Also Read - 'Don't You Explain This to Your CMs?': BJP Hits Back at Rahul Over His 'Lockdown Not Solution' Remark

Speaking on the protests, DK Shivakumar said, “Lots of portfolios & vacancies being created, all the seniors will be honoured at an appropriate time, Party knows the situation and will value their sentiment.”

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Wednesday inducted 25 new ministers and as expected, many Congress MLAs made it to the list. However, the cabinet expansion also caused some heartburn in the JD(S)-Congress coalition. After hectic meetings to work out an amicable solution, the portfolios were divided between the allies.

While 14 MLAs were taken from the Congress party, nine JD(S) leaders and one each of the BSP and Karnataka Pragnavanta Janata Paksha made it to the list. The cabinet hasn’t been filled yet as up to 34 ministers can be accommodated in the cabinet. The Congress still has to decide on six ministers, while JD(S) has to decide on one. Portfolios will be announced soon.

The two parties, which had fought an aggressive election against each other in many seats, cobbled together an alliance as soon as it became apparent that the BJP, despite being the single largest party in the Assembly, didn’t have the numbers to form the government on its own.