Thiruvananthapuram, May 19: Scripting a new chapter for the BJP in Kerala, party veteran and former union minister O Rajagopal today won from Nemom constituency here to help the party make its debut in the state assembly. Nemom was one of the segments where the BJP had pinned its hope the most in the present election to open its account in the Assembly.Also Read - Kerala Rains: Death Toll Rises to 23; PM Modi Discusses Situation With CM Vijayan | 10 Points

Rajagopal, who had lost by a narrow margin in previous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, wrested Nemom from sitting MLA and vibrant CPI(M)-LDF leader V Sivankutty defeating him by 8,671 votes When many of his party colleagues were trailing, Rajagopal, former Union Minister in the A B Vajpayee government, maintained a clear lead since the beginning itself.(Also Read: Kerala Assembly Election Results 2016: O Rajagopal wins, Sreesanth OUT; LDF makes come back as Chandy-led UDF fails) Also Read - Kerala Rain Highlights: 6 Dead, Several Missing in Floods, Landslides; Army, Navy Assisting in Rescue Ops

The historic victory is a sweet revenge for Rajagopal, as he had lost in the constituency in a photo finish to Sivankutty in the 2011 assembly polls. Garnering 43,661 votes, he had come second to Sivankutty last time. He had also garnered 50,076 votes in Nemom against Congress’s Shashi Tharoor who got 32,639 in the last Lok Sabha elections. In the last civic polls, of the total 22 wards in Nemom, BJP and LDF got nine seats each and UDF four. Also Read - World's Largest Political Party...: Uddhav Thackeray Takes Dig at Former Ally