New Delhi, May 6: Elections to Karnataka Assembly constituencies of Kolar Gold Field (SC), Bangarapet (SC), Kolar, Malur and Yelahanka would be held on May 12. This election promises to be an interesting one with the BJP putting all its might behind Yeddyurappa. While the JD(S) would not be able to emerge as a majority party, it will most likely swerve some voters against the incumbent Congress. Following are the details of the Assembly constituencies of Kolar Gold Field (SC), Bangarapet (SC), Kolar, Malur, and Yelahanka: Also Read - Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Final Results: BJP's Tejaswi Surya Defeats Congress' BK Hariprasad by 3,31,192 Votes

Kolar Gold Field (SC): The BJP candidate is Ashwini Sampangini against Congress’ Roopakala M and Backthavachalam of JD(S). In 2013, BJP’s Y Ramakka had defeated the JD(S) candidate. There are 16 candidates in the running for Assembly constituency number 146. Also Read - Karnataka: Record 67 Per Cent Voter Turnout Reported in Second Phase

Bangarapet (SC): The top contenders are the BJP’s Vankatamuniyappa BP, and JD(S) candidate Mallesh Babu, who are pitted against Congress sitting MLA SN Narayanaswamy KM. There are ten candidates in all. In 2013, the Congress had defeated BJP’s Em Narayanaswamy. This is Assembly constituency number 147. Also Read - Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkballapur, Kolar Seats in Karnataka

Kolar: From Assembly constituency number 148, BJP’s R Venkatachalapathi is up against Congress candidate Syed Zameer Pasha and K Srinivasa Gowda of JD(S). There are 21 candidates in the running. In 2013, Independent candidate R Varthur Prakash had defeated the JD(S) candidate.

Malur: BJP’s Es.En.Krisshnaiah Setty Malur is fighting the Congress candidate K.Y. Nanjegowda and JD(S) candidate K.S.Manjunath Gowda. There are 12 candidates in all for Assembly constituency number 149. In 2013, JD(S) had defeated this year’s BJP candidate who had then fought as an Independent.

Yelahanka: Sitting BJP MLA SR Vishwanath is pitted against Congress candidate MN Gopalakrishna and JD(S) candidate AM Hanumanthegowda. There are 13 candidates in the running. In 2013, the JD(S) candidate was the runner-up.