Kolkata: West Bengal minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Firhad Hakim on Monday registered thumping victory in the mayoral election by securing 121 votes in the 144-member Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC). The result of the mayoral election was announced by the civic body’s municipal secretary, Harihar Prasad Mondal.

Hakim, who is also Urban Development and Municipal Affairs Minister in the Mamata Banerjee government , has been chosen as the mayor designate by the councillors of the TMC, following Sovan Chatterjee’s resignation from the post, on a direction by party supremo and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Notably, Hakim considered very close to the TMC supremo and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee.

Talking to media after the announcement of the results, Chatterjee extended his best wishes to Hakim. “I am sure the KMC will function well under the leadership of the new mayor.”

If reports are to be believed, BJP candidate Meena Devi Purohit, who contested the mayoral polls against Hakim, bagged five votes. Twelve Left Front and two Congress councillors boycotted the election.

Last week, CPI(M) councillor Bilquis Begum had moved the Calcutta High Court, challenging Hakim’s election on the ground that he was not a councillor from any ward of the civic body. The high court on Friday refused to stay the election. The ruling TMC has 122 seats in the KMC House, the Left Front 14, the BJP five, the Congress two, while one seat remains vacant.

(With inputs from agencies)